Melissa at the gym

So, I went back to the gym for the first time in two months yesterday while Izzy watched the baby. The midwife that I had seen told me to be prepared to not be anywhere near the levels that I had been at before pregnancy (which I was expecting) or even while I was pregnant because I had spent the last 7 weeks recovering from surgery and that it would be a while before I was near the same fitness level that I was at before.  It was a truly sobering experience. I walked on the treadmill for about 25 minutes and I was absolutely exhausted.  I felt like everyone was looking at me. At the same time, I was pretty proud of myself. I was exercising 7 weeks after giving birth to a child via major abdominal surgery. Yeah, it wasn’t the most exercise that I’;ve ever done and I’m not going to be running any marathons or hiking up Mt. Washington anytime soon, but it was a start. And I wasn’t the heaviest person there by far.  It’s a start. And if I go each day, then it’ll add up and get better. I also know that it will help with the stress and my emotions too – endorphins are a good thing. And I’m hoping that I will see people there that I know, so that I’ll have some social contact apart from the internet and my immediate family. 🙂

If anyone has any good workout song recommendations, please comment and leave them because I want to get motivated!

Last nite was Nate’s first V-day nite. 🙂 I walked in from the gym to see my husband cooking dinner with Nate hanging from his chest in the Snugli. It was the cutest picture that I had ever seen – I wish that I had taken a picture but I didn’t have batteries for the digital camera. 😦

One thought on “Melissa at the gym

  1. Here is the workout list I made a few years ago!

    2 Unlimited – Get Ready For This
    Basement Jaxx – Red Alert
    Blue Man Group – Rods and Cones
    C+C Music Factory – Gonna Make You Sweat
    Crystal Waters – 100% Pure Love
    Daddy DJ – Daddy DJ
    Daniel Bedingfield – Gotta Get Thru This
    Deee-Lite – Groove Is In The Heart
    Gloria Estefan – Get On Your Feet
    Jamiroquai – Canned Heat
    Janet & Michael Jackson – Scream
    KLF – Last Train To Trancentral (or 3 am Eternal)
    Kylie Minogue – Slow
    La Bouche – Be My Lover
    Magic Box – Carillon
    MC Hammer – 2 Legit 2 Quit
    Patrick Hernandez – Born to Be Alive
    Quad City DJs – Cmon n Ride It (The Train)
    Real McCoy – Another Night
    Red Hot Chili Peppers – Love Rollercoaster
    Relient K – I’m Lion-O (or Pressing On)
    Republica – Ready To Go
    Rob Bass – It Takes Two
    Snap – Rhythm Is A Dancer
    Usher – Yeah
    Will Smith – Gettin Jiggy Wit It
    Will Smith – Wild Wild West
    Young MC – Bust A Move

Leave a Reply

