Book review – The Second Nine Months

Before Nate was born, I was a voracious reader. I read at least 75 books a year and was trying to read 100 a year.  Pregnancy and childbirth has ended the 100 book a year goal temporarily, but not my desire to read everything that I can get my hands on.  I just finished reading The Second Nine Months: One Woman Tells the REAL Truth About Becoming a Mom. Finally. by Vicki Glembocki the other day and I loved it. My husband actually pointed the book out to me while were at Barnes and Noble for our date night; he is super supportive and knows that I’ve been having a rough time with this whole motherhood thing; he thought that I should give the book a try and I’m so glad that he convinced me that I should because this book touched me in ways that I didn’t think a contemporary book could. I highly recommend it to new mothers and their families.

In this book, Vicki writes candidly about her experiences during the first nine months as a new mother to Blair, her first child. No one really talks about how hard it is to be a new mom – how sometimes you really don’t like your new baby and how you don’t like yourself sometimes because of it. There is a “New Mommy” code of silence surrounding all of these issues – you’re supposed to be happy and everything is supposed to be hunky-dory.  Your new baby and you are supposed to bond right off the bat with no problems; love at first sight so to speak. This book completely debunks the warm and fuzzy myths of motherhood.

I was shocked at how many times I caught myself nodding and grinning as Ms. Glembocki described a particularly trying incident and her feelings – how she just wanted to check her work email damnit, how she couldn’t stand her baby crying (and how her baby seemed to cry all the time!!!) and how she would fight with her husband (you get to leave the house but I have to stay here all day with the baby!).  It was reassuring to know that I wasn’t crazy and the only person out there with those feelings.  Definitely pick it up.

One thought on “Book review – The Second Nine Months

Leave a Reply

