Firsts…

The saying that there is a first time for everything will always be true, at least in my life.  Izzy and I took our first trip to the Emergency Room at Southern NH Medical Center with Nate on Wednesday night.  Nate has had a cold for about 10 days now but on Wednesday, began to run a fever – 100.5 (which is the magic number for infants) – so we called the doctor’s office and were told to go to the ER to be evaluated. He was fine, just has a cold, but it was better to be safe than sorry. That day, at work, I was exhausted. We got back home at 5:30 that morning and it just didn’t make sense to go back to bed. I probably would have felt worse if I went back to bed anyways!

It’s been really difficult to combine work, motherhood and Melissa-hood.  I try to leave work at 5 on the dot to pick the peanut up from daycare, but it’s really hard to get everything done that I need to get done. I’m exhausted by the time that 8:00 rolls around that I’m usually in bed, dozing by 9:00, leaving very little time for me to do the things that I enjoy – reading, writing, going to the gym, you name it.  I don’t even have the energy or the time to clean up, until the weekends. I am probably the only one that feels this way though.  At the same time, I don’t think that I would give up working for anything…I think that Nate is benefitting from the arrangements that we have now.

For instance, the cold – he’ll have so much immunity built up by the time he’s three or four, that we’ll be good when he gets to school! Also, there’s evidence that he’s developing social skills even at just shy of three months.  Last week, I picked him up and was told that he and one of the other girls had been socializing with each other all day – they were looking at each other, “talking” (making sounds to each other, in response to each other), and smiling at each other.  Also, he’s taken to talking to us – making sounds to us – and to non-family members, as well as smiling at everyone in response to their voices.  Yesterday morning, he even started giggling while Izzy was getting him ready for daycare. I know that a lot of parents, moms in particular, feel guilty about leaving their child at daycare but I’ve gotten to the point that I don’t. He seems to enjoy daycare, they take very good care of him and I’m “happy” being back at work – I say that Happy moms mean happy babies. Do I miss him – absolutely – but that just makes picking him up all that much happier and it makes the moments that I am with him all that much more precious. I appreciate them more!

One thought on “Firsts…

  1. I’m so sorry you had to go to the ER already but you’re right, better safe than sorry. We have been there too, sadly a couple times.

    I hope he’s feeling better now!

Leave a Reply

