I’m so amazed…

…at the sheer number of moms out there that can manage to fit blogging into their hectic, busy schedule on top of the whole being a mom and, sometimes, working a full time job outside the home (in full or in part). I’ve been shamefully neglectful in posting regular updates since i started back at work, but then again, I haven’t really made the effort to make blogging a part of my new, and improved, schedule.  I guess I’ll just have to try harder.

Balancing work and parenthood is VERY challenging and often exhausting, especially when your son went from sleeping fairly well at four hour stretches, to waking up multiple times per night again in a manner reminiscent of when you first brought him home (ok, not nearly that bad but I still feel exhausted!).  I find that when I’m at home, I sacrifice my own personal interests simply so that I can enjoy being with my son for the few hours that I’m not mentally exhausted or physically exhausted to do so.  He has taken to not only recognizing my husband and I, but giggling in excitement and even playing peek-a-boo with us!  The first time he giggled was the most amazing thing…It made me laugh!

Yesterday was the first day that actually felt like spring – snow is almost completely melted and there  are flowers pushing themselves up through the dirt. For a while there I truly did not believe that spring would ever come. This winter has been the second snowiest winter on record. We’ve had 118 inches…with only four more to go to tie the snowiest winter of all time. Anyways, time to get ready for work!

Leave a Reply

