sadness on a sunday

There are some things in my life that I hope to never have to do. One of them is bury my child. If Nate passed away for whatever reason, I would go out of my mind with grief and insanity and probably end up in an insane asylum, if I didn’t take my own life first. He’s my boo!

What brought this on you ask…well, today I went to a funeral for a young woman, 31, who died after a 2 and a half year battle with cancer. One battle that she and her mother, a woman of such grace and compassion, and whom I have the honor of working with and counting as a friend, fought through with such dignity. Her mother, as I said, is a co-worker and a friend and has lost two children and her husband, all to cancer. I cannot imagine the grief that she and her remaining daughter must face.  I went to the services today.  And both handled themselves with so much dignity, having to contain the grief that they must have been feeling.  How does a parent bury a child?  And how does a parent deal with having to bury two children and a partner? While still remaining steadfast, strong and dignified in the face of such sorrow?

At this point, I do not know, and quite frankly, I hope never to know. What I do know is that I admire this woman and her remaining daughter. I love them and I hope that one day, I can be as strong as they are. I love how they held their heads up with such strength, but at the same time appeared vulnerable in their sadness. And I want them to know that I am there to help them, as much as I can, in their struggles in the future.  I also want them to know that I am sorry for their loss, and that while I cannot know what they feel, I want to help to alleviate their sorrow in any way that I can.

Leave a Reply

