Misconceptions

By Naomi Wolf.

“Being pregnant and giving birth are like crossing a narrow bridge. People can accompany you to the bridge. They can greet you on the other side. But you walk that bridge alone.” ~African proverb.

This is how Naomi Wolf starts her book on parenting – Misconceptions, and now, in retrospect, it is eerily accurate.  I tried to read this book years and years ago it seems; the summer of 2001. I had just graduated from college and was working at a bookstore in Boston. I was preparing to head to law school.  As part of the job, we would get advance copies of books to read so that we could discuss them with patrons. I got this book. I tried really hard to start the book, but had a hard time getting into it. I couldn’t relate.  Now, seven years later, I tried again and I was hooked initially.

Ms. Wolf uses her own personal experiences in pregnancy and childbirth to argue that American society de-values motherhood and everything leading up to motherhood.  In some ways, I had to agree.  I particularly enjoyed her chapter on post-partum depression because she handled it so candidly. This is a subject that is hidden in the culture of motherhood – everything is supposed to  be beautiful and sweet and sugar laden but for a lot of women, it isn’t. However, it wasn’t as wonderful as her otherbooks.  I still would highly recommend it.

Currently reading: Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyers

Currently watching: Jets v. Pats

Currently drinking: Shipyard’s Pumpkinhead

Leave a Reply

