New publication…

here on ten things that helped me cope with Post-Partum Depression.  Please realize that not everyone experiences PPD and for people that do, the experiences vary in degree. What may have worked for me may not work for you, but I think that it’s important to share ideas and support.

Please feel free to contact me if you need to talk about PPD! I’ve been there (and still have bouts of depression), and there’s nothing to be ashamed of!

One thought on “New publication…

  1. One of the hardest parts for me was that I felt like I had been thrown into a COMPLETELY different life, and almost against my will. I was not prepared for that feeling… I was not prepared for just HOW much my life would change.
    I always tell people that what helped me most was finding a few things that were part of my “old” life and clinging to them. Anything that reminded me that I was still me, in spite of the upheaval. At first I felt guilty, because it seemed like I should be concentrating 100% of my time and energy on the baby (and sometimes I still feel like I didn’t pay “enough” attention to him). But it was small things, like taking a bath. Cleaning the house. Paying bills. Like you mention, going for a walk or going to the grocery store or the gym. Anything where I could step back into my “old life” for a little while, just to help me transition. (I imagine it’s similar to bringing your baby’s pacifier and blanket when he has to sleep in a different place.) Because there really is no transitional period. It’s just one day Old Life, next day New Life… and that was a huge and incredible difficult shock.

Leave a Reply

