Audiologist

So we brought Nate to an audiologist today. We were brought into a sound proof room and I sat in a chair in the center of the room with Nate in my lap. There were no windows to the outside room and only one door. The only window was in front of me and gazed into the room wher ethe audiologist stood to conduct the test. In the corners of the room, in front of me, at the top of the room were two speakers.  Above the speakers, were two dark boxes. Every time a sound played and Nate got it right, the dark boxes lit up and a motorized toy would start to play.

The good news is that Nate doesn’t have any hearing loss, but his ear is still plugged up.  I think he may still have to get tubes but I would do anything to make sure that he was ok.

So, today is New Year’s Eve. Izzy and I are staying home, probably watching TV, playing Wii and video games and watching movies. Anyone have any ideas about what fun things to do at home for New Year’s?

 

shelbyknox

I reviewed this amazing documentary here. Enjoy!

One thought on “Audiologist

  1. I’m not sure if you’ve tried this or not for Nate’s ear, but something cool that my husband does (chiropractor – though you’ll want to ask because not all chiropractors do it) is called endonasal technique. Basically he sticks his finger inside the mouth and massages the internal opening of the Eustachian tube which can help it drain properly. It’s not incredibly pleasant, but it can have immediate effects and prevent surgery which is always a good thing!

Leave a Reply

