The loss of a job…

…so this morning, I listened to the latest Mommycast episode and Paige was talking about how her husband, an attorney, had been laid off this past fall, the fall of 2008, from his job and how devastating it was for the family (financially) and for him (emotionally). All of a sudden the roles in the family were changed and their world was turned upside down. This really hit close to home. I am a lawyer. I went to law school because I was convinced that I would have job security because of the J.D./Esq. after my name (once I passed a bar and started working).  Things aren’t always what they seem – even the most educated and “necessary” of us aren’t immune from the economic woes that the country is suffering.  And it can have a devastating impact on us.

It’s a scary, scary time.  You don’t know what is going to happen. But all you can do is keep doing what you’re doing – trials the whole nine yards.

It doesn’t help that I’m feeling really under the weather – I have a cold – again. I’m coughing and am all congested.  I need rest. And no stress. Maybe that’ll happen. 😉

Leave a Reply

