Asthmatic

It’s official. After thirty years (almost – in a couple of weeks), I’ve been diagnosed with Asthama. I went into my doctor yesterday for a follow-up because I ended up in the ER last weekend, not being able to breath, and having intense coughing spells which would leave me light headed and then suffering all night with persistent seal cough.  The doctor confirmed that I didn’t have pneumust onia but that I definitely had asthma – she could hear the wheezing really clearly and my peak flow was only 50% of what it should be (not good). So she put me on an oral steroid (better go to the gym huh – and they’re not performance enhancing either a la A-Rod), and Advair, the purple disk.  It sucks that I’m going to have to be dealing with this for the rest of my life, but hey, chalk that up to the list of chronic conditions that I already have – hypothyroidism and anxiety.  It’s just something else for me to worry about I guess.

Does anyone else have asthma out there? How do you deal with it?

On a more positive note – Happy Valentine’s Day! It’s not that big a deal for us this year – we got each other small things – cards and flowers and a bottle of wine each. I’m not even sure that we’re doing anything special tonight, even though my folks are here and would totally be willing to babysit. Izzy has the cold that I am slowly getting over, so I’m not sure that he’s going to want to go out and do anything. I’m totally cool with sitting here, watching movies and having beer and pizza or wine or whatever.

6 thoughts on “Asthmatic

  1. I was diagnosed with asthma a couple of years ago! A few things trigger me – bad reflux sets me off as the acid drips back into my lungs. Cold weather is really bad – I usually only get asthma in winter! Cleaning products are really bad for me. And sometimes dust and pollens.

    Because I don’t have it chronically I just use my reliever spray when I need it. But I’ve noticed as I’ve got the reflux under control it’s really only winter that sets me off now. When it’s cold I just keep my chest warm and my spray handy. 🙂

    I hate the choking fits – very scary!!!

  2. Keep track of your triggers-journal it if you have to. My son has asthma and as he gets older it’s easier to avoid triggers, or at least minimize them. Have your doctor do an allergy panel, targeted to your geographic area (it is a simple blood test). This was key in identifying triggers for our son!

    Let me know if you have any other questions-I’ll be happy to share my experiences!

  3. I have asthma and have had it since I was a child. I don’t like it. LOL I can’t explain it, since I’ve always had it.

    By the way, I can’t add you on to the snail mail pals blog without an email address.

  4. I had childhood asthma. I have had little to worry about since becoming an adult. My last asthma attack was when I was 19. That being said, I get respitory infections all the time and I carry an inhailor with out fail. Painoid I guess. Anyway, bad pollution days and cold weather are triggers. Also humidity. I ave a bad reaction to the puple disk. Make sure you rinse your mouth out after you use it. It makes my tongue swell even with rinsing. Be well.

  5. Hey there..my son developed asthma symptoms at 2 and it’s been 5 years since he’s had an attack/ER visit. We researched and got to the root of what causes this horrible illness….besides the fact that several other fam members have it, it’s said to be hereditary. Our diet-lifestyle changes is what i’ve contributed to the success of overcoming this illness, and that was the journey that lead me to become so passionate about natural health, hence my health blogs, sites etc.

    I encourage to research on your situation as people develop asthma for various reasons. Wishing you total health-wellness.

    @DuongSheahan

Leave a Reply

