Briefly

…an update! Yesterday, both Izzy and I had off from the work so we had Nate for the day, to ourselves. He was up at 5:30 so I got up with him and we played. I really enjoy playing with him that early because most of the time, he’s awake, he’s happy, he’s fresh and I love him so much. We then brought Nate to get his ear molds fitted and they were great!!! We gave him a bath later on and it was wonderful. They served their purpose well. 🙂

So, I was listening to the Manic Mommies in the car on the way to work this morning. It was this episode on the bonds of motherhood. The meat of the show was interesting – they interviewed these two women who became friends thirty years ago when they went to a mommies’ group meeting and they have remained friends since. That part of the show was cool, but it wasn’t the part of the show that really struck me. At the end of the show, the Mommies talked about how certain women didn’t change their names when they were married and how a lot of women in their social circles didn’t change their names when they got married. And the same things could be said about my social group. I am, so far, the only one in my social group that didn’t change her name, both professionally and socially. I kept my maiden name on all of my legal documents and professionally.  It was really important for me to do that – as an acknowledgment of what I had accomplished and would, hopefully, continue to accomplish and because of the history behind changing ones name. My husband didn’t mind that.

When it came to the last name that our son had, though, led to lots of fights.  Izzy really wanted Nate to have his name and I couldn’t understand why he couldn’t have my name and Izzy’s name. Maybe my name as a middle name or something. I ended up caving in and we named Nate what we did, but it was cause for much strife in our house.

Leave a Reply

