Memories

Before I had Nate, when I was skinny, my husband and I went to Hawaii for ten days. We spent five glorious days on the island of Kauai and five not as glorious days in Honolulu.  I had never been to Hawaii before and I remember hoping as a child that I would get to go there because it seemed so exotic. It was so far away – in the middle of the Pacific Ocean – literally have a world away for a New Englander originally from New York. I mean, it takes less time to fly to Europe than it does to fly to Hawaii, which is a part of my own country.I really wanted to go to Pearl Harbor. Now, this was before the 9/11 attacks, so the fact that our country was attacked and the attack commemorated was really almost romantic in my imagination (heh – little did I know – please note the sarcasm).

Anyways, I was all being nostalgic this morning because I was drinking Kona coffee and thinking about how we went there like three years ago.  I loved Kauai – it was so beautiful. If I were to go back, I would stay there for two weeks and not even bother to go to Honolulu, which is like every other city – and was really touristy. We stayed here when we were in Kauai. It was AMAZING.  This trip honestly made me want to just quit my job, abandon everything, set up a tent on the beach and just live.  But alas, that’s probably not going to happen now.

2 thoughts on “Memories

  1. Pearl Harbor is something I think everybody should see, but I probably won’t go back to Honolulu either. Maui was our paradise, and I am sure that Kauai is the same.

  2. Kona Coffee is my favorite. A&E Roastery serves Kona coffee every Saturday. It is located on 101a in Amherst. I go every Saturday, before I go to the dump. They roast their own coffee, and supply it to many restaurants and coffee shops in the area. If you buy one of their travel mugs the coffee is only 99 cents. Really good deal for a great cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

