Sometimes…

…it’s really hard to find things to blog about but darnit I’m going to try.  Today was another one of those days that actually made me feel healthy. Nate slept to a somewhat normal time – 7 AM – and we got up and played. He ate, finally! I couldn’t help but be really, really relieved. I think he’s on the mend because he was just so happy today.

I am listening to the current Mommycast podcast and they’re talking about cleaning thier homes.  Thank the Goddess or God or whatever is out there if there is anything out there at all that I’m not the only one that truly struggles to keep her home clean. I am listening to the episode where they talk about getting and staying organized and cleaning the home. Let me say that I am not the most organized person in the world. I need major help in getting organized and staying that way. What I did this weekend was an effort to get my life more organized and I think that what Paige and Gretchen said was so true – you have to do a little bit each day in order to keep up with it otherwise it’s so easy to get overwhelmed and to let it get out of hand. I think that my new system is going to be focusing on tidying up at least one room per day in the effort of keeping more organized.

So I’m looking for book recommendations. I am looking for books that deal with the women of the Bible and women’s relationship with religion.  Do you have any recommendations?

2 thoughts on “Sometimes…

  1. Melissa, never be afraid to call the pediatrition if you have concerns about your baby. Yes, its scary when they don’t eat because they can’t tell you what is wrong. Even if the call is for a reality check its always better to have peace of mind than to worry. It’s advice, do with it what you want. Also thanks for finding me on the book of face!

  2. Have you read The Red Tent? That was a pretty compelling read lent to me by a friend of mine. For non-fiction I would highly, highly recommend something by Madeline L’Engle the author of a Wrinkle in Time. She has an autobiographical Trilogy that is awesome, a great book with her friend Lucy Shaw on faith and friendship-forget the title. She also has some wonderful books with spiritual reflections…my very favorite author.

    Off course Ann Lamott’s books are kind of the quintsential reflections on women and religion. I particulary enjoy her because she lives in Marin where I grew up. I think you would love her, she is funny and irreverant, but also deeply spiritual. The three books she wrote on this subject are Traveling Mercies, Plan B and Grace. Another wonderful book although it isn’t by a women or specifically about women is by John Michael Talbot, the Catholic singer. It’s entitled The lessons of St. Francis and I remember it blew me away. Oh…also My Monastery is a Minivan by Densie Roy. I read and reread that one. Currently I’m reading a book about Dorthy Day who founded The Catholic Worker. She was a really amazing person. I’ll let you know if I recommend the book. Also try “Looking for Mary…Or the Blessed Mother and Me” by Beverly DonOfrio. I can’t explain that book, but I can say that it is very interesting and compelling and explores one woman’s religious evolution. I don’t know if it would be your thing, but I couldn’t put it down.

    OK. I’ll stop. I love to read about spiritual topics, so I am just full of ideas :).

Leave a Reply

