Politics and reading

So, unless you’ve been hiding under a pillow, it’s not new to you that AIG is giving out tons of bonuses, after receiving a lot of taxpayer money in the bailout.  I generally don’t know what to think about the bailout, because I don’t know if it will work. I think that we’re in such desperate times, that I want to believe that anything that will help is a good thing and if this means a bailout, and the bailout works, then wonderful.  However, I am absolutely appalled that AIG did this. And disgusted. I didn’t pay my taxes so that a few people could get richer. I pay taxes to pay for the services that I receive and I pay taxes in order to help other people (think Social Security and Medicare, roads etc.). I don’t pay taxes so that some rich millionaire can get his frakin’ (yes that is a Battlestar Galactica reference) bonus and get even richer, while my neighbor, sister, cousin whatever gets poorer because he or she was fired by that same person that is getting their nice little bonus and going home to their beautiful home and going to the Cayman Islands with that bonus. I mean, seriously.  It’s enough to make my stomach churn and me vomit. 

On another note:

100_challenge

I just finished reading this book for the above challenge:

ender

Please see my review here. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

