Booking Through Thursday

 

I haven’t done a Booking Through Thursday post in such a long time because the questions, quite frankly, didn’t really appeal to me all that much. This week’s question was pretty good though, so I’m going to partake in it!

I saw that National Library week is coming up in April, and that led to some questions. How often do you use your public library and how do you use it? Has the coffeehouse/bookstore replaced the library? Did you go to the library as a child? Do you have any particular memories of the library? Do you like sleek, modern, active libraries or the older, darker, quiet, cozy libraries?

I love my public library. I use it all the time.  I’m there all the time. Paying fines for late books is so much cheaper than paying for the actual book! In my household, the coffeehouse/bookstore hasn’t replaced the library. In fact, for me, the library had replaced the bookstore. It was mostly a cost saving mechanism (and a Lent promise) on my part to not buy books and the habit has stuck (except for e-books – whenever I get Amazon giftcards, I purchase E-Books for my Kindle and love it!). I did go to the library a lot when I was younger – part of it was because my mom was and still is a librarian, but I think, again, it was cheaper than buying books. I like the sleek modern libraries.

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. Cost savings are what drove me back to my library and I love it. I’ve become much more discerning about which books I will actually buy now. I think libraries are simply wonderful. I’d be lost without mine, and so would my boys.

Leave a Reply

