Going to the movies

I’m convinced that going to the movies has some therapeutic value.  I guess that is why they’ve been such a popular form of entertainment for such a long time. A good one has the uncanny ability to take the viewer out of their lives for a few hours and transplant them into the lives of someone else for that same period of time. A bad one makes you feel like you’ve lost valuable periods of your time and your life that you can’t get back.

Yesterday, I got to go to the movies for the first time in a while. I can’t remember the last time I went to the movies to see a movie.  I am pretty sure that it was before Nate was born and he’s 18 months old. How awful is that? I’m such a loser. I went to see Harry Potter!!!  And my review is here. I’m a huge Harry Potter fan.  That being said, I found it very difficult to actually review the movie without giving away a whole lot of the twists and turns and the ending (of course).  Those of you that know what happens at the end of Half-Blood Prince know what I mean.  So this review may not be as up to par as my others have been, simply because I felt very constrained in how much I could write about the movie. That being said I’ve made a promise to myself that I will get to the movies more often simply just to have a break from the stresses of everyday life.

There were a couple of previews that looked like fun – there’s a Sherlock Holmes movie coming out at Christmastime that looked good and of course I love Robert Downey, Jr. Here’s the preview:

And there’s a movie of WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE coming out also!!!!!!  I was way excited about this one and actually started crying during the preview!  What can I say – I read the book to my son for crying out loud! It’s one of my favorite, if not my favorite, kid book ever. We even read it out loud to Nate when I was pregnant with him so that he could get used to our voices.  And he’s really good at roaring now!  Here’s the preview:

Cannot wait!!

2 thoughts on “Going to the movies

  1. I agree that going to the movies can be therapeutic. I took a solo movie outing to see Into the Wild, and it was 2 1/2 magical hours of being away from all other cares in the world. It was awesome, and I have a lot of alone time as it is, so I can only imagine what a treat going to the movies must be for you as a mom.

  2. Going to the movies like an oasis in my stressful-desert. That can clean my mind so I can think clearly tomorrow. The Movies is part of my life that makes me addicted. The Movies is a place of our imagination can be visualized. So lets go to the movies again. Hehehe

Leave a Reply

