Monday Musings

musing_mondays_big Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about movies …

How do you react to movies made of your favourite books (or even not-so-favourite books)? Do you look forward to seeing them, or avoid them? Do you like to have read the book before seeing the movie?

When I see that some of my favorite books are being made into movies, I get a really bad feeling in my stomach and I end up approaching it with a lot of trepidation because, usually (and by usually, I mean 9 times out of 10), the movie is nowhere as good as the movie. In order to make a buck, directors and producers and screenwriters and the other people involved in adapting books to movies have to sacrifice a lot.  The movie can’t be too long or too complicated or people won’t think it mindless enough to enjoy or too complicated to follow.  And even in the best of cases, some things are lost in translation.  I always make the attempt to read the book before I see the movie. If there is a delay (like with the Harry Potter books), I really make every effort to re-read the book before going in.  I find that I appreciate the movie more and can critique it much better having read that going in.

One thought on “Monday Musings

  1. I agree. It’s a shame that the author’s don’t have much to do with the screenplays either. The Lightening Thief is coming out soon, and I’m scared to think what they’re going to do to that one.

Leave a Reply

