Pediatricians

I wondered today, as I was sitting in my doctor’s examining room with Nate, whether pediatricians treat their own children when they get sick or whether they go to another practitioner when their child was sick.  I asked Israel this and he looked at me funnily and said “Why they treat their own kids of course.”  And my response was “Well if I were charged with a crime, I don’t know if I would be pro se or if I got a divorce, I don’t know that I would represent myself.”

Yes, I brought Nate to the doctor today because he had a fever of 103 at daycare when he woke up from his nap. And it turns out that he has pneumonia. And I felt like such a crappy parent.  He’s had a cold for a few days but nothing major. He was FINE this morning – acting normally and then bam! It was like he hit the wall.  I picked him up and he was burning up. They gave him some motrin and some pedialyte at the doctor’s office and he began to perk right up.  Then we went over to the hospital for a chest x-ray.  It was a normal x-ray room and Izzy and I got to stay in with Nate, wearing those big gowns of course.  They put him in this contraption to keep him still. Initially he didn’t like it at all but when the tech began to spin him around to get the side view, he started cracking up completely.  He’s on antibiotics now and drinking well and eating well.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that things get better soon.

2 thoughts on “Pediatricians

  1. I don’t know – my mom the nurse never treated us. And my uncle the oral surgeon never performed any surgery on any of us until we were 18 or older. 🙂 If I was a pediatrician, I would NEVER treat my own kids.

  2. Don’t feel like a crappy parent. Kids go south fast. So he could have very well been fine and then bam. The fact that he is alreay feeling better is a great sign that you caught it early. Cut Mommy some slack. (I know- easier said than done)

Leave a Reply

