Library Haul

library-loot

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

I didn’t take a picture but I’m really,  really excited about my library haul this week (and this is my first post in this particular weekly event). I brought home:

yearoftheflood

This is Atwood’s latest novel (normally found in dystopia) and is about two women who somehow survive a plague that has been genetically manufactured plague (for conspiracy theorists – AIDS or H1N1?) and are isolated during its spread. The women are members of a cult that has previously stated that God has been planning vindication for all of humankind’s sins in the past. I love Atwood and loved The Handmaid’s Tale so I reserved this copy so long ago.

outlander

Considering that I’m on a Scottish kick lately, Gabaldon’s Outlander shouldn’t be a surprise. I’ve read it once before, a long, long time ago. It’s an interesting combination of historical fiction (the novel takes place in the 1940’s AND in the 16/17th century Scotland), time travel (the main female character time travels) and romance (she falls in love with a Highlander she meets after she goes back in time).  CANNOT wait to sit and read this with a glass of wine.

4 thoughts on “Library Haul

  1. Looks like you have some nice, big books to dive into! 🙂 I enjoyed Outlander when I read it back in high school (it’s one of my mom’s favourite series), and I have a different Atwood (Alias Grace) on hold at my library!

  2. Talk about thinking ahead for The Year of the Flood. I always forget about going to the library for newly released books…until their released and then I want to read them NOW so I end up buying them 🙂

    I loved The Handmaid’s Tale as well. It is one of my all time favorite books and I did my senior thesis on it in college.

  3. I LOVE time travel books! And books set in Scotland! Outlander sounds really familiar, too; I think maybe I read something about it in another book? Gah, no idea. Maybe I’ll just have to check it out for myself.

Leave a Reply

