Monday Musings

From Just One More page, per usual and even though I’m still sick and tired.

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about your bookshelf…

What books did you read while in school? Were there any that you particular liked, or even hated? Did any become lifelong favourites?

Oooh, this is a good one. My favorite classes in school were my English classes.  I particularly loved reading The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath – it was one of my favorite books and I actually related to the main character in some ways.  Little did I know that I would be going to a Seven Sisters’ school also. And it began my obsession with Sylvia Plath, an obsession that continues somewhat to this day.  I also really enjoyed The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald and In Cold Blood by Truman Capote.  Of course, books like 1984 fueled my love for dystopic fiction and were a precursor to falling in love with Atwood’s work, which was probably too controversial to be read in our high school English classes (for those of you that went to the same high school as I, you know what I’m talking about). I generally really enjoyed the dystopic stuff, except for Animal Farm, which was just plain wierd. I hated the Shakespeare stuff – too boring and in high school, I really had a hard time figuring out how it related to our life.

But perhaps the most influential and best book that I read in high school was To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I read it in ninth grade Honors English. I think I knew at that moment that if I went to law school and became a lawyer, I wanted to be Atticus Finch.  I wanted to be the lawyer that he is in that novel – he was so professional, classy, moral and ethical.  And to this day, when I feel like I’m losing sight of the goal or the big picture or what I want to be or why I do what I do, I re-read that novel and it reminds me.  Thank you Attorney Finch, and thank you Ms.  Lee.

Leave a Reply

