Booking Through Thursday a Christmas Edition

Merry Christmas to all those that are celebrating. Today’s Booking Through Thursday question:

Given the choice, which do you prefer? Real history? Or historical fiction? (Assume, for the purposes of this discussion that they are equally well-written and engaging.)

It really depends on my mood. Generally, I really like reading regular history books – not historical fiction.  For instance, I’m currently reading A Jury of her Peers by Elaine Showalter, which is a 600 page whopper of a history of American female authors from Anne Bradstreet to Annie Proulx.  And I love it, although I have to say that I enjoy reading the parts of the book about the authors that I like and have read more than the other sections.  However, I’ve been known to dabble in historical fiction too when I need a break, most notably, the Outlander series and novels by Phillipa Gregory or about the times of Henry the VIII and Queen Elizabeth I. I also enjoyed Labyrinth and Sepulchre by Kate Mosse (and I hope that she writes more of them soon! PLEASE!!!).


Leave a Reply

