Cardio kick box…

…should be in everyone’s plans, if your gym offers a class. I went to my first cardio box class, at least the first one that I’ve been to, in a while today and it was so much fun.  I felt like I got a really great workout, but wasn’t totally clutzy about it and the instructor was great to.  She was able to keep me interested and motivated for the entire hour, which included mostly cardio but also some resistance training at the end – the kind where you use your own body weight as the resistance.  Lots of squats, push ups etc.  And I felt really good after it.  I need to do more classes like that because I find it really hard to stay motivated and interested in my work out. I’m not nearly as disciplined as I used to be – in between my junior and senior years in college, I would work all day and then run five miles a night after I got home from work and I was able to keep that sort of schedule up during the fall, so that I was in pretty good shape for varsity squash season and then rugby season after that. I can’t do that now – maybe it’s cause I have a kid, I don’t know, but the point is that until I get in better shape (the kind of shape where I actually enjoy running five miles a day again), I’m going to go to three classes a week.

Before I went to class, I reviewed Cleaving, Julie Powell’s new memoir. The review is here.

I made this really yummy chicken dish for lunch – both Izzy and Nate devoured it and it left me wondering if maybe I should have made more. It’s another of Rachel Ray’s thirty minute deals – I’m really trying to cook as many of the dishes as I can. Anyways, this one is the Southwestern Chicken and Black Bean Burritos. Here you go:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp chili powder
a couple shakes cayenne pepper sauce, such as Frank’s Red Hot or Tabasco
1 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil (I used pam cooking spray)
1/2 medium spanish onion chopped (I just used regular yellow onion)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 can (15 oz.) black beans, drained and rinsed
3 Tbsp smoky barbecue sauce
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1 heart of romaine, shredded
6 scallions, thinly sliced
2 tomatoes, seeded and chopped
4 large flour tortillas, flavored or plain

Rub chicken with cumin, chili powder, and cayenne sauce. Heat a griddle pan to high. Cook chicken breasts 4 minutes on each side and remove from heat.

While chicken is cooking, heat a skillet over medium-high heat. Go once around the pan with oil. Cook onions and garlic until onions are soft, about 5 minutes. Add beans and barbecue sauce. Chop cooked chicken breasts and drop into barbecued beans. Heat mixture through. Season with salt and pepper.

Place a tortilla on a plate and pile chicken and beans in center. Top with lettuce, scallions, and tomatoes. Wrap, roll, and repeat with remaining tortillas and filling. Serve with chips and salsa.

One thought on “Cardio kick box…

  1. I need to find a cardio kick class- need something like that! That recipe sounds delish! Thanks for your comment 🙂 I agree about the ‘gay’ usage too – completely overused at inappropriate times!

Leave a Reply

