Monday Musings

I didn’t do last week’s Monday Musings. In fact, I don’t think I’ve done a Monday Musings in a while, which is a shame.  But I’m going to do this week’s.

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about the ‘best’ books’.Last week I had you all to suggest your top 5 books – and I was surprised by just how different all your choices were! There’s no real question this week, except to look over the list and consider it. Do you agree with the choices? Is it more worth of a “Best Book” title?

So, my top five books would have been:

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  3. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
  4. The Book Thief by Marcus Zuzak
  5. I don’t really have a fifth. :-/

Out of those, I think that only one, maybe two, would get a best book title. If I were giving the title to one in particular, I would give it to the book that changed my life and inspired me to pick a career. Therefore, I would have to choose To Kill a Mockingbird. If I were choosing the book based upon what encompassed some of my fears about the future and the value that I place on cautionary tales, I would choose The Handmaid’s Tale.

Leave a Reply

