Booking Through Thursday

 

What is the first book you remember reading? What about the first that made you really love reading?

Reading in school was always my most favorite part about school – English was my favorite subject. I probably should have majored in that in college instead of history but whatever. Anyways, the first books that I remember reading were in my elementary school English/reading classes. I remember reading Caddie Woodlawn and Bridge to Terebithia – I think that we read them at around the same time. Maybe back to back. I have recently re-read Bridge to Terebithia because a movie version of it came out.  Still love that book.

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. I can’t recall my first book but I do recall that, I was hooked on Enid Blyton. She, in a way, has influenced my interest in Crime fiction.

    Then I used to devour the Nancy Drew books along with Hardy Boys. However, but those came much later.

    Here is my BTT: First Time post!

  2. The first books I remember reading were a series called, I believe, Betsy and Tacy. (I could be wrong.) It was about two little girls, around the turn of the century, and their antics. I loved it because they lived in a time and place were they might set off on their own adventures and not come home until dark. I always found that time period so romantic and sweet. A little older, I remember, my mom reading us the Lord of the Rings trilogy (we were stil very young- 5 and 7?) and my mother, my brother, and myself all crying when Gandolf died. Such a sweet memory when you think about it.

Leave a Reply

