Compare/contrast/discuss

So at six weeks out with Gabby, I’ve been comparing and contrasting how I have felt this time with how I felt with Nate and the differences are tremendous. Don’t get me wrong, there are definite similarities but I think that the differences by far outweigh the similarities. The biggest difference was the method of delivery and how I have recovered from it.  I had to have a c-section with Nate because of fetal distress – his cord was around his neck and every time i had a contraction, his heart rate would plummet, which was really scary. That means that he may not have gotten the oxygen he needed during delivery, which could have resulted in brain damage or death if I had continued with labor. After twelve hours of being in labor with him, I had only progressed to 5 CM dilated, which is nowhere near where I needed to be to deliver and there was no telling how much longer I would be in labor, so a c-section was done. I was in the hospital for three days, highly depressed, in a lot of pain and struggling with feedings and sleep deprivation.  When we got home, it was worse. I fought with Izzy a lot, couldn’t hold Nate for too long because it hurt too much and had severe PPD. I was still in pain at my 6 week post partum visit, my incision wasn’t healing properly and the Zoloft was just starting to kick in.

This time, I had a vaginal birth.  I went into labor naturally – no pitocin or anything.  I woke up at 6 45 in the morning having contractions. When they were coming every five minutes, we went to the hospital.  I checked in at 12:30 and was already 4 CM dilated by the time that I had gotten there.  Within about 2.5 hours, the contractions were every 90 seconds and I was feeling the urge to bear down.  I think that I began pushing at around 3:05 maybe and pushed for 10-15 minutes because at 3:21 i had a baby on my chest. She came out pretty quickly and easily and cried without the doctors having to do anything.  I didn’t have any drugs for this delivery but not by choice. I asked for the epidural but the anesthisiologist was in a c-section and didn’t get to me in time to give it to me before i started pushing. Surprisingly, the pushing part didn’t hurt – the contractions were worse – although the pushing was a LOT of work.  It was like a workout at the gym – one of those high impact classes. My face was all red and I was sweating up a storm.  Thankfully they were pumping liquids through me so I didn’t dehydrate.  The pain from this delivery was gone after about 2.5 weeks, along with the bleeding.  I was up and about so much more quickly.  I still had the baby blues but the Zoloft worked much more quickly to moderate my moods.

***

So, I saw a post in the huffington Post about breastfeeding mothers and how the IRS won’t give a credit for pumps and I think it’s a travesty.  The IRS’s position is that breast mik is a nuitritional issue, not a medical one, but I think that I beg to differ.  The benefits to mom and baby from breastfeeding are more than nuitritional – I think that it may cross the line into medical. It gives the baby immunities, which decreases potentially the amount of illness a baby gets.  I think that it also decreases the likelihood of obesity and diabetes in babies in the future. For moms, it helps with weight loss and reduces the risk for breast cancer.  Those are medical issues.  I think that the IRS should therefore, take on this issue and consider giving a credit for the costs of pumps, which are pretty expensive for good ones.

3 thoughts on “Compare/contrast/discuss

  1. I like your comparison! I had the vag delivery with the c-sec recovery. 😛 22 hours of labor, pushing for 2 hours, HORRIBLE pain in the 24 hours following birth (couldnt walk or move), and pain & bleeding & visible stitches for 8 weeks. I’m so hoping it’s easier for me the 2nd time, heh!

  2. I agree with you regarding the pumps and the IRS. But at the same time, they’re probably afraid people with stories like mine – preemie too small to latch, my post-delivery meds not good for newborn, expert opinion: formula – would argue that I could claim the cost of formula for a year, because it was also medically sound and at the advice of the perinatologists and pediatricians. And man, I wish I could get some of those costs back!

  3. Glad your experience was a good one the second time around. I agree our country could do a whole lot more to support breastfeeding and taking care of our babies. Each of my kids took longer to birth (I know it’s the opposite of what it should have been) I found though it matched their personalities. My youngest being my pokey puppy.

Leave a Reply

