What doesn’t kill you…

…will inevitably make you stronger I guess.  I had a really, truly, horrendously bad ear infection.  I stayed home last Friday (a week ago now) with Nate who had his own ear infection. While he was napping, I elected to nap as well. When I woke up, I had the most earth shattering pain ever in my ear.  It radiated down my jaw and across my face. I woke up groggy and totally disoriented. So I took myself to the urgent care because it was about 3:30 or 4 in the afternoon and there was no way that my PCP was going to be able to get me in on a Friday afternoon at that time.  I knew that something was wrong though. And low and behold there was – I was diagnosed with both swimmer’s ear and a middle ear infection.  My ear continued to get worse over the weekend and actually started draining pus onto my pillow whenever I slept.  Which was often – because I felt absolutely horrendously. On Monday I went into the PCP and he changed my medication. I went back on Wednesday because I was still feeling awful and draining. On Thursday, I went to the ENT – she said that she thought that I had ruptured my ear drum, which was why my ear was draining but that she didn’t see a hole or perforation so she thought that I was starting to heal. She suctioned out my ear drum and then cleaned it out and scheduled me for a hearing test in a few weeks.  I hope that I haven’t lost too much hearing but I fear that I have. And I still have fluid in my ear, so who knows.  I’m still on the meds, but have been feeling better.

***

It’s been a really nice weekend so far. I had off on Friday and on Saturday, we had a BBQ. A few people came over – totally informal – and really nice. It was just cool to get to see people outside of work and stressful environments. But it was a ton of work – and I’m glad that I felt up to it and had Friday off to get things ready. I did most of the cooking and prepping on Friday so I didn’t have a whole lot to do on Saturday. I fell into bed on Saturday night though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

