My first migraine and a hearing test…

Because of the whole Michelle Bachmann and her migraines bit, I thought that I would share my memory of my first migraine ever. I was living in Littleton at the time – it was the summertime.  It was hot and sunny and a Saturday morning, probably around 11 ish because I had just gotten done with my workout at the gym in Lisbon. I was driving home and had stars beginning to form around the edges of my eyes. I remember that I kept rubbing my eyes because I was sweating pretty good and thought that it was just the sweat that was getting in my eyes.  By the time I got home, I realized that it was more than just sweat – it was a really bad headache so I went to bed in a dark, cool room.  However, within 15 minutes of me laying down after showering, my hands got all tingly and numb, as did my face and mouth.  I literally freaked out. Luckily, my husband was with me that weekend (at that time, although we were married, we were living separately because he was working in Massachusetts at the time, and sometimes he would be up to stay with me Thursday through Monday, but that’s another story for another time).  I made him drive me to the hospital because I was convinced that I was having a stroke – Izzy was not that convinced, needless to say. Anyways, the doctor diagnosed me as having a migraine headache, gave me a shot of NICE painkillers and sent me on my merry way.

***

On another note, I had my hearing test today with the audiologist.  It turns out that my left ear is fine but my right ear has moderate to severe hearing loss.  They don’t know if it’s permanent or not and they think it’s related to the nerve and the muscle in the ear, as opposed to the eardrum.  I need to talk to the ENT and probably get more tests like an MRI or CT scan of my ears to make sure that there isn’t a vascular or growth of a mass issue – which I don’t think that there is. I’ve had ringing in my ears and hearing loss for a while now.  I’ve learned to cope so well that I rock in court, with only one ear really.  Don’t get me wrong, I can hear out of my right ear, it’s just really muffled.  And I do well one on one and when it’s quiet and 99% of the time, there is normally only one person speaking at a time in court, so it should be ok.  If there isn’t a biological cause that can be fixed by the ENT, I may have to get a hearing aid – which I’m open to because hey, if it helps me to hear better I’m all for it – but I think that they want to try to “fix” it without the hearing aid first.  Which is totally fine by me.  I’m open to trying different things to see what works.

I guess the point of the story is that people with things like migraines and hearing loss and even other, more severe, disabilities can do well and succeed in their lives and with their professional careers and we shouldn’t discount them because of those issues.  Michelle Bachmann should be treated like any other candidate and, while I probably wont’ vote for her in any election, that decision most certainly wasn’t and most certainly won’t be based upon her migraine issues, but upon her platform and views…

2 thoughts on “My first migraine and a hearing test…

  1. Hi – saw that you’d unfollowed and blocked me on Twitter, and wanted to apologize if I’d given any offense! If so, completely unintentional.

  2. Ugh, I started having migraines in HS. I didn’t even know what they were. I just thought I was dying. Nice to share migraine horror stories though huh? LOL.

Leave a Reply

