Not another 9/11 post…

…so yes, it is really another 9/11 post but I really can’t help it.  But this post isn’t about *me* per se. It’s about how to make it easier to talk to my kids about it and how to make it more bearable for them to learn about it – because they will eventually learn about it and the world that I live in. I am really struggling with how to reconcile that with my feelings – namely, that I want to protect them from the big, bad bogey man.  I’ve really thought about it and the best that I can come up with is that even though it’s scary and a really traumatic thing, I need to be honest with them about it. That doesn’t mean that I’m going to sit them down and show them the videos of it over and over and over again when they can understand what is going on because I think that in and of itself could be overly traumatic. They can watch it when they’re old enough to make the decision themselves – maybe 30 (in all seriousness, teenagers). However, I think that it is really important to talk to them about it and to discuss it with them and answer their questions as thoughtfully as I can.

It won’t be easy, but it has to be done…

Leave a Reply

