Boston

Last weekend, we went to the New England Aquarium.  It was the first time that Gabby had been there, but Nate has been there before, at least twice. As you can see, Gabby was mesmerized from the moment that we stepped inside:

And she continued to be mesmerized for the entered time that we were there. I could tell because she kept doing things like this for the entire time that we were there:

She was really intrigued by the penguins, the big tank in the middle (and, by extension, the TREMENDOUS sea turtle that they had in there and which could probably swallow her whole if she was the type of thing that they ate) and the starfish (which she joyfully touched and then grinned and giggled). Nate also liked the penguins but was more intrigued by the octopus that was hanging off of the side of one of the displays (I actually liked the octopus the best too – the suckers on its tentacles are really kind of cool looking).  I also really, really liked the sea anenomes, which were fascinating to look at.  Nate was confused about what they were, until we reminded him that Nemo lived in one, and then he was like “oh ok” and went back to looking at the octopus, who gladly glared back at him with his one eye. I also brought Nate to the Touch Tank. He wasn’t tall enough to stand on the floor and put his hands in, so he would have had to stand on a ledge that they had and he ended up getting too scared to stand on it because a little girl fell off the ledge (not into the water) while we were there. I stuck my hands in too though and touched the rays.  It was really kind of cool – they feel much softer then you would think they felt. It’s almost like touching wet velvet.  It was really cool.  The one thing that I didn’t like was that, because it was a Sunday, it was really crowded and that was overwhelming, particularly with the hearing aids.  I had a tremendous headache and was *really* tired when I got home because I still have to concentrate when I am in more crowded areas (like a restaurant or the aquarium) in order to discern what is being said to me.

***

Being in Boston made me really think.  I hadn’t been in Boston in a while – I passed through South Station during my travels to Washington D.C. in the fall but didn’t really stay. I also spent a little bit of time at Mass Eye and Ear over the summer, but only for an appointment where I had lunch at the hospital, went to my appointment and then left immediately. It reminded me of the times that i have either lived in the city of Boston (summer 2001, summer 2002) or around Boston (1997-2001).  My life would be totally different if my husband and I lived in the city of Boston instead of a constructive suburb of Boston (because, while we live in NH, we are only about 45 minutes driving from Boston, making us pretty much a suburb of Boston). There are some things that would make a city like Boston a great place to live – namely, the culture. There is easy access to great museums, great food, theater/concerts and of course, you get a lot of really smart people in the area because of the educational opportunities. Oh yeah, and I guess sports too, although we all know how I feel about stuff like that. But it’s so expensive and I would miss the easy access to the outdoor activities that I really enjoy and have such easy access to right now.

Leave a Reply

