I haven’t forgotten

This blog has been woefully dead the last few weeks but for good reason.  My hard drive broke the first day we were on vacation. Like literally, it wouldn’t be turned on so I had to wait like two weeks before I got a working computer back, which meant no blogging and no uploading pictures or anything. But luckily, I have the computer back and am now sitting here, with my coffee, having just had breakfast with Nate who is watching Thomas the Tank Engine so I can get some blogging in before the day begins.

***

Three Wednesdays ago (was it really that long ago?!), the family and I drove down to Boston. We were spending the night at the Hyatt Harborside near the airport because our flight was at 8 the next morning, meaning we’d need to be at the airport by 6:30 the latest.  And I really didn’t want to rush with two little kids.  It was good in some ways that we did – the next day, we learned from people on the plane with us that a tractor trailer had overturned on one of the bridges near Downtown Boston (the main artery, that brings you to the airport if you’re coming from the North) and they had to shut down the entire bridge – we would have missed our flight. But at the time, we were pretty  miserable because neither of the kids would settle down to go to sleep until 1 in the morning. Gabby would cry and cry until we got up to play with her and, because we were all in one room, Nate couldn’t sleep because of Gabby.  Eventually they did settle down but it seemed like my eyes had just closed and I had to get up to get ready to go to the airport.

The airport itself was somewhat stress free, relatively speaking I guess. We did have to get a new bag because one of our duffels busted a zipper but we had gotten there with enough time that we weren’t worried about not getting to the gate on time.  I had to say that I breathed a huge sigh of relief though when we did get to the gate and when we got onto the plane.  We got there early but not early enough that we were waiting for a long time to board.  

More later!  Gabby awake…

 

Leave a Reply

