It’s so hard t…

It’s so hard to believe that summer is almost gone. In two weeks is my 8 year wedding anniversary (!!!), Labor Day and the start of fall. I saw commercials for pre-season football on television.  I’m a little excited and a little bit sad at the same time.  I’m excited because fall and winter are my absolute favorite seasons.  I love skiing. I love the autumn weather and the fall and early winter holidays. I love cozy Sunday mornings when it’s snowing so hard outside that you just want to cuddle up inside with some coffee and then wine and your legs are so tired from skiing for hours and hours the day before (or snowshoing for hours the day before!!!!). But I’m also sad because I haven’t done nearly as much hiking as I wanted to do, although I’ve gone on some sort of hike each weekend for the last few weekends. In fact, I did a 4000 footer recently (mark one off the list!). A few weeks ago now, we did Mount Tecumseh:

Image

Mount Tecumseh is the smallest of the 4000 footers in NH and the trailhead was located right next to the ski lodge in Waterville Valley. In fact, one of the “views” overlooked the ski trails, which were REALLY weird looking without being covered in snow as they are completely unnatural swaths of treeless patches in an otherwise forested area.  The hike itself wasn’t too bad – the last part was pretty steep and somewhat difficult with a 30 pound toddler on my back but otherwise fantastic.  It started to rain at the end pretty hard but in general we had a great time:

Image

Image

This weekend, I think I’m going to do Waumbek by myself (because my hubby is taking the kids to NY for break) and the weekend after I’m also alone so I’m going to do maybe Isolation or Whiteface. Then the weekend after, Cannon!  I can’t wait.  

 

 

One thought on “It’s so hard t…

  1. What a cutie you have!!!! She’s adorable.

    I heard people talking about pre-football season and started to feel sad. I feel like summer should be just beginning!

Leave a Reply

