Coming full circle

So, when I was five, I started playing soccer.  That was back in 1984 y’all (yes, do the math – I’ve probably made a bunch of people  I work with feel old.  But that’s ok because guess what – y’all ARE old!  😉 ). When I started playing soccer, there were no girls’ or women’s teams. I was one of maybe 3 girls on the boys’ teams.  And as I got older, more and more girls joined, to  the point where we could have a separate girls’/women’s league and teams. I honestly don’t remember how I got started in it but I remember my dad coahching us for many, many years, beginning when I was probably in like the 4th grade.  I remember this because he made me become the goalkeeper because no one else wanted to do it and he thought that it was the fairest thing. Little did he know that a. I would be really short, like nearly detrimentally so (I’m 5’4″ in heels people, 5’1″ or so without em!) and b. it would stick – I became an Olympic Development and Varsity college soccer goalkeeper. Yes. I could jump.   Higher then most people (excluding those guys in the NBA of course). I played for two years at the collegiate Varsity level and into law school on the recreational level. And now, I’m getting into coaching. My son is playing in the U6 program in our town rec. league. And I’m coaching him.  It just blows my mind.

I went to a coach’s clinic tonight geared towards parents who are coaching in the age range I’m in. I’ve done it before – before I’ve had kids – and a lot of the stuff that we discussed and did was a little instinctual for me although I did learn a lot of other thngs that I didn’t know about before and got some good resources to go to for ideas.  I’m also really looking forward ot getting coaching licenses form the state authority for coachcing older kids and maybe going even further and getting US licenses to coach and referee, so that I can maybe get a part time gig coaching or assisting at the high school or ODP level.  What struck me particularly about these clinics thonight was that the majority of coaches were dads. I think that there were maybe one or two other women that were coaching…and I found that to be really sad.  The teams look to be split pretty evenly between girls and boys – and what does it say when there aren’t that many female coaches?

Leave a Reply

