Helicoptering v. free range?

So, I read this article today and there are a couple of things that I’d like to add to an already apparently feisty debate:

  1. There’s a big difference between free range parenting and the parenting described in the article. When I hear free range – I think that the kids have a set, clearly defined boundary and they can explore within that boundary but can’t go beyond that. If they go beyond that, the parent calls them on it. I tend to try to do that with my kids but am not always successful so thankfully my hubby helps back me up.
  2. I don’t like helicopter parents all that much, in part because I think that my parents were in part, helicopter to some extent.  I think it makes a kid nervous and neurotic and worried about failure or upset if they don’t live up to expectations.  I think it can stifle creativity, which is something that is extremely important to me.  Thinking outside of the box is pretty darn cool.

There’s a helicopter mom at the daycare that my kids go to and, quite frankly, I can’t stand her.  She and her husband are both helicopters.  They seem so…I don’t know…intense and both of their daughters get this absolute look of fear in their eyes when their names are called in a certain tone and I feel really bad.  It’s almost like a PTSD trigger. And I feel so badly…because even though I’m fairly certain they’re trying to protect their children from ill, I think that the negatives are outweighing the positives…

Leave a Reply

