What a difference

..a year makes.  At this time last year, I was one week from beginning a new job. I was excited and scared (don’t et me wrong, I still get scared sometimes).  But  I have to say that it was worth it. 

This time of year also has lots of interesting and mostly good memories for me.  Two and a half years ago, I hobbled around the Ribfest (which we went to today) in one of those stupid air cast boots after having broken my ankle when I was 20 weeks pregnant (thanks for coming to my house Ben!) and having gone through surgery. I was watching The World Cup (and loving the fact that I could TiVo games and watch them when I wasn’t in pain – although I wish that I had a DVR when the World Cup was in Korea and Japan) and cheering for the US and the Netherlands.  I was watching and reading The Millenium Trilogy another year and loving Lisbeth Salander (and wishing there were more characters like her when I was a teenager – and just for the record, the Swedish language movies are better than the American one). I loved getting a big hug from a few of the people that I was going to work with when  I saw them at the functions that I was attending.  I just have great memories of this time of summer.  

Today, we went to the Ribfest and I have to say, it wasn’t bad. We went early enough that it wasn’t crowded – in fact it was super crowded when we left at 2:30. I loved seeing people and introducing my husband to my co-workers.  It is so nice to relax and have a nice day.    

More tomorrow – when I know that we’re going on a hike!

Leave a Reply

