Hearing Loss Makes Ya A Member of This family…

…and if you don’t have it, you’re the odd one one out. This week, I brought Gabby to have her hearing tested.  It was a fascinating experience from my perspective.  I don’t remember doing the three year old test with Nate – I think that Izzy went to the testing for him. Anyways, the audiologists did team testing with Gabby. We were placed in a sound proof room.  I sat in a chair in the back of the room while Gabby sat on a sort of couch at the front of the room. There was a window that she was facing.  The testing audiologist sat in that room facing her and administering the test. There was another audiologist in the room with us. Gabby was told to put toys into a bucket whenever she heard sounds.  They tested things like pitch and loudness. They also tested the nerve and how it was doing whenever she heard a sound and whether the eardrum was functioning.  

At the end of testing, I learned that Gabby needs hearing aids – she, like both Nate and I, has sensorineral hearing loss. It developed in the same time period for both of them – between the ages of birth and three. I couldn’t tell you when I developed it – I got my hearing tested after I got a severe ear infection about 2.5 years ago, which ruptured my ear drum and caused my doctor to want to make sure that I could still hear ( I couldn’t and it was worse after the ear infection). I don’t remember being unable to hear growing up, in high school or even in college. I began to notice that it was getting progressively worse in the last few years.  I received a diagnosis back then of Meniere’s Disease, which means that the doctors couldn’t find anything physically wrong with my ears or my brain – no tumors or anything else . I even went down to Mass. Eye and Ear Infirmary. Interestingly, I have nearly all of the symptoms of it – occasionally I get vertigo (not sever); however I’m more likely to get car sick and get motion sickness really easily – more easily than most. If I go on a ride that goes upside down or spins, even in the slightest, it can take me 15 minutes or half an hour after I get off the ride to feel close to normal. I have ringing in both ears – more in my right ear. I get a lot of pressure and fullness and have a really hard time popping my ears and am REALLY sensitive to certain noises.  What was also really interesting was that the audiologist put my chart, Nate’s chart and Gabby’s chart all next to each other and if I didn’t or wasn’t able to read the names at the top, I would have sworn they were just three copies of the one test.  We all have the same hearing loss in the same spots, so it must be genetic and congenital. ::Sigh::

Gabby is absolutely amazing as is Nate. I would never have believed that either of them had hearing issues because they both use language that is, at the very least, appropriate for their age. Now, both children are using vocabulary that can sometimes even be considered advanced.  I hope that they will fine.

Leave a Reply

