Bikes, tips and hearing loss

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking on the topic of hearing loss. Obviously, it’s a big issue here in our home, what with three of us now experiencing some degree of unexplained hearing loss. I picked out a book from my local library called  Shouting Won’t Help by Katherine Bouton. It looked fascinating because it’s about a woman that was born fully hearing and lost so much of her hearing over the course of her life, that she now has an implant in one ear and a hearing aid in the other.  I was hoping to learn a bit more about hearing loss and what caused it and how this particular woman, who was similar to me in many ways (educated, professional – she’s a journalist by trade). I can’t wait to read it – of course, I’ll review it when I’m done. I’m thinking of also writing an article on how to help people with hearing loss similar to ours.  So many people have this hearing loss…

***

On Saturday, we had a wonderful Indian summer day. Nate has learned to ride a bike – we were working on no training wheels but we’re not quite there yet.  Anyways, we went on a bike ride on Saturday around our neighborhood. It was the first time that we went on a ride together – usually I have Gabby with us and she doesn’t really ride a bike yet – next year. He had so much fun too – I think we’ll have lots more coming up in the future.

Leave a Reply

