Speech assessments and hikes

So, the big news of the week is that last week, I had to bring Nate in for a speech assessment. The pediatrician recommended it mostly because Nate wears hearing aids.  I was surprised that they had blocked off two hours for it but what was I to know – I’ve never done them before at all.  Anyways, the test only took one hour and luckily there isn’t anything wrong with his speech. I still can’t believe that he’s going to be in first grade come September and that we have graduation in a few weeks from today.

We have also been really busy the last few weeks.  On Saturday, we played a soccer game at 9:30 in the morning.The 9:30 games aren’t bad but getting up for the 8 AM games are brutal.  We haven’t had particularly good weather the last few weeks either so the games have either been cancelled or we’ve been playing in the rain.  I think Nate really likes soccer – he seems to get more excited to play each week – but I don’t think it’s a passion for him like Legos, drawing or books are.  If I had to speculate, I think that Gabby is going to be the one that likes sports, girly as she is, because she’s always been the more physical of the two – even as a baby she liked being held and cuddled more than Nate did – it’s a personality thing more than anything else.  On Saturday, we also went to the See Museum in Manchester. It’s a science center that allows the kids to touch just about everything they see, except for this tremendous Lego sculpture on the bottom floor – it was of the mill area in downtown Manchester and must have taken hours upon hours and millions of Legos to complete:

IMG_0030

Last week, we also went to the Charmingfare Farm and, while the kids loved it, I wasn’t a big fan.  It kind of rubbed me the wrong way to have wild animals – wolves, foxes, bears (no kidding) – in pens for us to gawk at.  It didn’t feel right.  It wasn’t a zoo either – at least at a zoo, I feel like they had trained people to take care of the animals and the animals were placed in as close to their “natural habitat” as possible.  At this farm, there were literally chain link fences and barbed wire enclosures.  It just made me feel uncomfortable.

Anyways, another busy day today – even though it’s Memorial Day, I’m going into work this afternoon for a few hours to get some stuff done.

 

Leave a Reply

